DRM Institutions

A system of Provincial/Regional Disaster Management Commissions and Authorities is proposed in the National Disaster Management Ordinance 2006 to facilitate implementation of disaster risk management activities in the country. The Provincial/Regional Commissions would be the policy making bodies, while the Disaster Management Authorities would be the implementing and coordinating arms. Disaster Risk Management is a provincial subject, the Provincial/Regional Governments will have crucial role in the implementation of disaster risk management policies, strategies and programs.

Provincial Disaster Management Commission (PDMC)

In order to lay on Provincial Disaster Management Policy, Provincial Disaster Management Plan with the guidelines lay down by the National Commission & implementation of the plans and oversee the provision of funds for mitigation and preparedness PDMC has been established which consists of the following.

  • Chief Minister Punjab (Chairman)
  • Leader of the Opposition
  • One Member nominated by Leader of Opposition
  • Any member of the Cabinet, who shall be the Vice Chairperson
  • Finance Minister
  • Minister for Revenue
  • Minister for Law
  • Three Elected Representatives
  • Chief Secretary Punjab
  • Relief Commissioner Punjab
  • Chairman P&D
  • Home Secretary
  • Finance Secretary
  • DG PDMA (Secretary of the PDMC)
  • Secretary Punjab Red Crescent
  • Four members of NGOs or Civil Society

Provincial Disaster Management Authority (PDMA)

PDMA consisting of the following has been notified to formulate the Provincial Disaster Management Policy, to coordinate & monitor the implementation of the National Policy, National Plan & Provincial Plan, to examine the vulnerability of different parts of the province to different disasters & specify prevention or mitigation measures to lay down guidelines for preparation of Disaster Management Plan by provincial departments & district authorities, to evaluate preparedness at all governmental & non-governmental levels to respond to disasters and to enhance preparedness and advise them regarding financial matters in relation to disasters management.

  • Relief Commissioner (Chairperson)
  • Secretary Home
  • Secretary Law
  • Secretary Finance
  • Secretary Health
  • Secretary Agriculture
  • Secretary Irrigation
  • Secretary Housing & PHED
  • Secretary Local Government
  • Secretary Social Welfare
  • Secretary Livestock
  • Secretary Information
  • Additional IG Operations
  • Director General PDMA (Secretary)
  • DG Punjab Emergency Service
  • DG Civil Defence
  • Any other members to be co-opted by the Chairperson

District Disaster Management Authorities (DDMA)

  • Deputy Commissioner¬†(Chairperson)
  • Mayors of Metropolitan/Municipal Corporations
  • Chairman District Councils
  • District Police Officer
  • Two elected representatives to be nominated by the Chief Minister for each DDMA
  • Two respentatives of NGOs/ Civil Society to be nominated by the Chair
  • CEO District Health Authority
  • CEO District Education Authority
  • Additional Director Livestock
  • Deputy Director Agriculture (Extension)
  • District Food Controller
  • SP/DSP Special Branch
  • Executive Engineer,Irrigation
  • Executive Engineer,Public Health
  • Executive Engineering, Highways
  • Executive Engineering,Buildings
  • District Emergency Officer (Rescue1122)
  • Disaster Management Officer,Pakistan/Red Crescent Society
  • All Chief Officers of Municipal Corporation/Municipal Committess/District Councils
  • Federal Government Officers which the DDMAs decide to co-opt as per powers delegated under section 20 & 22 of NDMA Act 2010